Battle of the Year: The Dream Team


Drama about a US breakdance crew taking on the world Discuss this article

© ITP Images

Director Benson Lee struck gold with his documentary following various breakdance crews as they prepared for and competed in the 2005 Battle Of The Year – so much so that he was given the go-ahead for a feature-length drama based around the same contest. Chris Parker and Brin Hill are on scripting duties while Josh Holloway (Lost), Josh Peck (Mean Creek) and Laz Alonso (Straw Dogs) lead the cast in a story about an American crew heading to France for the championships. The title has undergone a couple of changes, but the original name, ‘Planet B-Boy’, has been officially junked in favour of its current, rather unwieldy moniker.

By Time Out staff
Time Out Doha,

Battle of the Year

  • Duration: 109
  • Released: Wed, 25 Sep
  • Classification: PG13
  • Language: English
  • Director: Benson Lee
  • Stars: Josh Holloway, Laz Alonso, Josh Peck, Caity Lotz, Chris Brown, Ivan 'Flipz' Velez, Jesse 'Casper' Brown, Sawandi Wilson

Add your review/feedback

Subscribe to weekender newsletter



Explore by

Our favourite features